the studio after midnight

There is something very special about working late, once the world outside goes quiet. Perhaps it is simply that the distractions of the phone and traffic and people stop. The peace around me allows me relax, breath slowly, and just work. Many years ago in Lamu, Kenya, working on a book of collages, I discovered the joy of working in the quiet of night, often right through until the dawn prayer call, catching up on my sleep in the heat of the day. When I look at the work I made then I can smell the jasmine, the drains, and the sea.

Nowadays, working late is less poetic, it comes with the kickback exhaustion of having to keep in stride with the school run and the ‘normal’ working day, and the all too familiar middle aged energy level crisis!…….but there will always be those glorious stolen moments of quiet when I am busy and it seems the world is asleep!

About janecorbettmillinery

Couture milliner and artist
This entry was posted in studio and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

