Art in Action, V&A, greengages and the Hat Magazine

Highlights of a busy summer must include a stolen afternoon in the V&A, the gorgeous fragments in the drawers in the glass gallery a new delight (shards of ancient glass inspiring textile artwork? Oh, yes!!) Loved the bonus of the members room as a new member and also the cool crisp glass of wine to be had down the road browsing books in the reading room. Well, when I say “browsing” what I really mean is coveting and buying!! (Book of armour inspiring hat designs? Oh, yes!)

Art in Action too, a great day as ever. Met some lovely makers and thrilled to be exhibiting in the textile tent next year. Highlight of that day was the silver and pebble necklace made by New Zealand based maker Maike Barteldres……I kept going back, having another look, knowing I couldn’t afford it and yet by the end of the day I knew I couldn’t leave without it! I have worn it every day since and I can’t imagine not having this treasure!

Best bit of my garden was the greengage tree, laden this year with my all time favourite fruit. What a glorious treat to stand underneath and just pick and eat, pick and eat!! There were so many I even took a box to the local greengrocer!

Juggling hats and exhibition pieces and school holidays has been a ‘plate spinning’ fiasco with a great deal of smashed crockery but hey ho!!

Time for break from the studio at last and just as I am closing the door the latest issue of the Hat Magazine lands on the doormat…one of my favourite hats is on the front cover, photographed by my favourite photographer!

Good summer, inspiring, exhausting, probably badly managed but time for a bucket and spade!!!!

About janecorbettmillinery

Couture milliner and artist
This entry was posted in millinery, studio and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

