Art in Action

Two days to go and I should be packing up to go to Art in Action…the studio is a bombsite (don’t think that’s quite how I want my decamped studio at AinA to look!?) Still making work, getting excited, but I dare not write a ‘to do’ list today, it would be too stressful!

The new work I am taking is a taster of a new collection called ‘Geisha and Gingko’. Hats, scarves, framed textile pieces and textile sculptures in antique glass domes. All inspired by (and incorporating) vintage kimono silks and the perfect shape of gingko leaves.

IMG_3667 IMG_3686 IMG_3704

IMG_3749 IMG_3721 IMG_3714

I know other makers are in the same boat, soon we will all be in the same marquee, tired, thrilled to be there, and no doubt very HOT. Hard to believe last year we all arrived on skiddy mud tracks after days of rain, this year it will be a sunathon as well as the usual visitor marathon.

One of my very favourite events of the year and I’m delighted to be one of the tribe of makers on site. If I wasn’t I would be first in the queue of visitors. If you have never been to Art in Action then make this your first year, it will probably become an annual fix for you too!

So what am I doing blogging instead of working?….it’s a kind of hysterical displacement exercise, a momentary diversion to pretend all is calm!

About janecorbettmillinery

Couture milliner and artist
This entry was posted in millinery, studio and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art in Action

  1. Marie says:

    Your stand at Art in Action was one of the highlights of my visit. Absolutely beautiful. Don’t live the lifestyle for one of your hats, but as one who enjoys textiles, quilting in particular, I can still appreciate your design work and the hard work everything entails.

    • Thank you! So pleased that you enjoyed seeing my stand so much! AinA is a truly wonderful event and it is a treat for me to be there and meet so many lovely people, I feel inspired by the visitors and the makers I spoke to!

Leave a Reply

