Summer reflections and autumn news

Goodness, is it really such a long time since I posted on my blog…..

After Ascot and the summer season, just when I would expect things to be quieter I have been working all hours; new projects, hat orders, art work, commissions, and FINALLY the new website up and running!

Highlights of the summer included the treat of demonstrating in the Textiles section at Art in Action, meeting old friends such as Kate Wells (our hardworking calm spirited Head of Textiles) and Allison from http://www.allisonrodgers.co.uk , and making new friends including the lovely http://www.elsacappelli.org  with her beautiful millinery and her wonderful African womens straw plaiting project.

It is such a source of inspiration to be at Art in Action, so many talented makers, thousands of wonderful visitors and yet a serenity amidst the crowds that is unique to this event. Amongst the visitors to my stand were the buyers from the British Museum Shop and as a result I have just delivered some of my textile pieces and artwork to the museum shop which were commissioned to coincide with the ‘Shunga’ exhibition which runs from 3 October 2013 to 5 January next year. Very exciting and having a partner who handles art for a living was definitely ‘stress relief’ when it came to transporting this fragile piece housed in a large antique glass domes to the museum!

Kimono Fan 2013 photo Giles Penfound

Kimono Fan 2013
photo Giles Penfound

I have also been busy working on new hats and soon there will be exciting news about some of my most exquisite couture pieces being in London next year!

I am looking forward to visiting http://www.decorex.com this weekend, and I will be joining the http://www.iworry.org walk in London on the 4th October

A busy month ahead with hats at a ‘Fashion & Cocktails’ event in London, and then off to Africa to do millinery exhibitions in Kenya and Tanzania alongside my dear friend and protege Lali Heath, to launch her new millinery business in East Africa.

Making mental note to go out and bulk buy vitamins!

I will be posting more regular updates on here and on the website, did I mention the new website?! An exhausting but ultimately satisfying task, done ‘in-house’, literally, at home, designed by me and built by my utterly patient partner. http://www.janecorbett.co.uk

About janecorbettmillinery

Couture milliner and artist
This entry was posted in millinery, studio, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

