Jane Corbett Millinery Exclusive to Harrods

I am delighted to announce that my exclusive S/S14 millinery collection for Harrods, London is now in store!

Surprised? So am I! Those of you who are already familiar with how I work will know that I do not repeat exact designs and colours, each of my hats is a one off creation. I have never been tempted down the road of wholesale, mass production, or designing ‘diffusion’ ranges to be sold in stores worldwide, well I hope like me, you will be pleased and reassured that there is no change there! What did change was a studio visit from Emily Stirk from Harrods, and the result is a very exciting new working relationship that has allowed me to create an exclusive collection of model millinery for Harrods for S/S 14.

There are certain words in the world of art & design and fashion that are over used and misused, we are all a little jaded by ‘exclusive’, ‘unique’, ‘exquisite’ and ‘fabulous’. ‘Exclusive’ on this occasion is essential, Harrods is the only place to find my work outside of my own studio.

The hats are all hand stitched, one off designs, each with a style and detail entirely it’s own but made with overlapping themes in technique and colour that bring the individual pieces together as a collection. They share a simplicity of line combined with intricate detail; vintage lace, soft tulle, filigree straw tracery and delicate bead work; and a palette of classic black, ivory, grey and nude.

It has been such a delightful process to work with the team at Harrods, and I hope visitors to the millinery department will be thrilled to see the result!

A taste of some the pieces in the collection….

No 8 Photo Giles Penfound

No 8
Photo Giles Penfound

No 8 detail Phto Giles Penfound

No 8 detail
Photo Giles Penfound

No 4 (background) & No 5 (foreground) Photo Giles Penfound

No 4 (background) & No 5 (foreground)
Photo Giles Penfound

No 6 detail Photo Giles Penfound

No 6 detail
Photo Giles Penfound

No 7

No 7

No 9 Photo Giles Penfound

No 9

No 9 detail

No 9 detail

Before signing off I must apologise for such a long gap in blog posts, I have been so busy that I had not realised how long it was since I had written! Since October when I went on a working trip to my beloved East Africa I have been busy working on the S/S14 collection and creating hats for private clients, as well as working with porcelain.

Now it is time to look ahead with a taster of news for the  New Year; I have been invited to do a ‘millinery masterclass’ at Kensington and Chelsea College in February, I am working on porcelain and textile pieces for a solo art exhibition in London in March,  and I hope to be in Texas in the spring thanks to a lovely new client and friend, Mica Mosbacher.

I think a little Christmas break is called for….

Seasons Greetings!

About janecorbettmillinery

Couture milliner and artist
This entry was posted in millinery, studio, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jane Corbett Millinery Exclusive to Harrods

  1. Pingback: Christmas Gift from Jane Corbett | Royal Hats

Leave a Reply

